A Dictionary of Tolkien

A-Z

Author: David Day

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0753728559

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 272

View: 9557

Release On

Arranged in a handy A-Z format, A Dictionary of Tolkien explores and explains the creatures, plants, events and places that make up these strange and wonderful lands. It is essential reading for anyone who loves Tolkien's works and wants to learn more about them. This book is unofficial and is not authorised by the Tolkien Estate or HarperCollins Publishers.

Tolkien

A Dictionary

Author: David Day

Publisher: Bounty Books

ISBN: 9780753727966

Category: Fantasy fiction, English

Page: 271

View: 9383

Release On

Arranged in a handy A-Z format, Tolkien: A Dictionary explores and explains the creatures, plants, events and places that make up these strange and wonderful lands. It is essential reading for anyone who loves Tolkien's works and wants to learn more about them.

The Ring of Words

Tolkien and the Oxford English Dictionary

Author: Peter Gilliver,Jeremy Marshall,Edmund Weiner

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 0199568367

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 234

View: 8257

Release On

Three senior editors at the Oxford English Dictionary examine Tolkien's career as a lexicographer who spent two years on the staff of the OED, analyze its influence on his creative use of language in his fictional works, and probe the origins and meaning of such Tolkienesque words as "hobbit," "Ent," and "mithril."

An Atlas of Tolkien

Author: N.A

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0753730731

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 256

View: 9130

Release On

This lavish, colour atlas is a complete guide to the weird and wonderful geography of Tolkien's world. Packed with full page maps and illustrations of events in the annals of Middle-earth, it is the perfect companion to the bestselling A Dictionary of Tolkien. This book is unofficial and is not authorised by the Tolkien Estate or HarperCollins Publishers.


Tolkiens Welt

die mythologischen Quellen des "Herrn der Ringe"

Author: David Day

Publisher: Stuttgart : Klett-Cotta

ISBN: 9783608936292

Category: Middle Earth (Imaginary place)

Page: 181

View: 3845

Release On


Oxford Dictionary of National Biography 2005-2008

Author: Lawrence Goldman

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 0199671540

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 1264

View: 1952

Release On

This book, drawn from the award-winning online Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, tells the story of our recent past through the lives of those who shaped national life.

Tolkien Bestiary

Author: David Day

Publisher: Gramercy Books

ISBN: 9780517120774

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 288

View: 8824

Release On

A comprehensive reference guide to the history, creatures, races, flora, and fauna of J. R. R. Tolkien's imaginary worlds features more than a hundred black-and-white drawings and thirty-six full-color paintings by eleven of Europe's best fantasy artists.

Liccle Bit. Der Kleine aus Crongton

Author: Alex Wheatle

Publisher: Antje Kunstmann

ISBN: 3956142454

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 256

View: 5222

Release On

Lemar Jackson ist 14 Jahre alt, und obwohl er nur der Zweitkleinste in seinem Jahrgang ist, nennen ihn, zu seinem großen Missfallen, alle »Liccle Bit«. Jonah und McKay sind seine besten Freunde, und dennoch ziehen sie ihn ständig damit auf, dass er keine Chancen bei Mädchen hat. Erst recht nicht bei Venetia King, dem heißesten Mädchen der Schule. Umso erstaunter sind alle, als Venetia ihn bittet, ein Porträt von ihr zu zeichnen. Ist das etwa ein erstes Date? Doch auch Manjaro, der berüchtigte Anführer der Gang von South Crongton, beginnt auf einmal, sich für ihn zu interessieren, und bevor Lemar sich versieht, erledigt er kleine Aufträge für ihn. Als der erste Tote im Viertel auftaucht, erkennt Lemar, dass er schon viel zu tief in dem eskalierenden Bandenkrieg steckt und so auf keinen Fall weitermachen kann. Aber wie soll er seinen Kopf aus der Schlinge ziehen, die sich immer weiter zuschnürt?

The World of Tolkien

Mythological Sources of the Lord of the Rings

Author: David Day

Publisher: Bounty Books

ISBN: 9780753724460

Category: Law

Page: 184

View: 5674

Release On

A comprehensive guide to Tolkien's mythological, historical, literary, linguistic, and creative sources for THE LORD OF THE RINGS.



Characters from Tolkien

Author: David Day

Publisher: Bounty Books

ISBN: 9780753705612

Category: Fantasy fiction, English

Page: 287

View: 2622

Release On

This is a comprehensive, illustrated guide to all the living creatures, both flora and fauna, that inhabit J.R.R. Tolkien's Middle-earth and Undying Lands.

Der Fall von Gondolin

Author: J.R.R. Tolkien

Publisher: Klett-Cotta

ISBN: 3608115110

Category: Psychology

Page: 320

View: 3389

Release On

›Der Fall von Gondolin‹ – eine der drei Großen Geschichten des Ersten Zeitalters von Mittelerde Zwei der größten Mächte Mittelerdes stehen sich in ›Der Fall von Gondolin‹ gegenüber: Auf der einen Seite Morgoth, die Verkörperung des Bösen und auf der anderen Ulmo, der Herr der Meere, Seen und Flüsse unter dem Himmel. Im Zentrum ihres Konflikts steht die verborgene Elben-Stadt Gondolin. Turgon, König von Gondolin, wird von Morgoth mehr als alles andere gehasst. Seit Langem versucht der dunkle Herrscher, Gondolin zu finden und zu zerstören, aber vergeblich. In diese Welt kommt Tuor und wird zum Werkzeug von Ulmos Plan. Von ihm geleitet, macht sich Tuor auf den gefahrvollen Weg nach Gondolin und gelangt in die verborgene Stadt. Dort heiratet er Idril, die Tochter Turgons; ihr Sohn ist Earendil, dem es vorherbestimmst ist, einmal der berühmteste Seefahrer des Ersten Zeitalters zu werden. Durch einen gemeinen Verräter erfährt Morgoth, wie er einen vernichtenden Angriff gegen die Stadt führen kann, mit Balrogs, Drachen und zahllosen Orks. Das Verhängnis nimmt seinen Lauf. Christopher Tolkien verwendet in dieser Ausgabe eine vergleichbare Darstellung der Entwicklung der Geschichte wie bei ›Beren und Lúthien‹. Für J.R.R. Tolkien war ›Der Fall von Gondolin‹ »die erste richtige Geschichte aus dieser imaginären Welt«, und wie ›Beren und Lúthien‹ und ›Die Kinder Húrins‹ zählte er sie zu den drei ›Großen Geschichten‹ des Ersten Zeitalters von Mittelerde. ›Der Fall von Gondolin‹ wurde von Christopher Tolkien herausgegeben und bildet den Abschluss der drei großen Geschichten, die 2007 mit ›Die Kinder Húrins‹ begonnen und 2017 mit ›Beren und Lúthien‹ fortgesetzt wurde. Dieser neue Band enthält zahlreiche Farbtafeln des berühmten Tolkien-Künstlers Alan Lee. Weltweiter Erscheinungstermin von ›Der Fall von Gondolin‹: 30. August 2018

J.R.R. Tolkien's Double Worlds and Creative Process

Language and Life

Author: A. Zettersten

Publisher: Springer

ISBN: 0230118402

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 243

View: 2168

Release On

A close colleague of Tolkein for many years, Zettersten offers here a personally informed analysis of his fiction. In light of his unusual life experience and enthusiasm for the study of languages, Zettersten finds in Tolkein's fiction the same animating passions that drove that great author as a youth, a soldier, a linguist, and an Oxford Don.

Unheil über Oxford

Ein Kate-Ivory-Krimi

Author: Veronica Stallwood

Publisher: BASTEI LÜBBE

ISBN: 373253460X

Category: Fiction

Page: 330

View: 3467

Release On

Christopher Townsend, der Haushaltsbeauftragte des Bartlemas College, ist nachweislich betrunken, als er von der Spitze des Gnaden-Turms fällt. Seinem tragischen Tod verdankt die Schriftstellerin Kate Ivory das Angebot, die bereits begonnenen Vorbereitungen für ein vierzehntägiges Kolloquium unter dem Motto "Genus und Genre" zu übernehmen. Doch Kates neue Kollegen scheinen sich ihr gegenüber feindlich zu verhalten, obwohl sie dem College mit ihrem Einsatz einen Gefallen erweist. Und wer hinterließ den Satz "Neugier ist der Katze Tod" auf einem von Christophers Aktenordnern? Als Kate schließlich selbst Drohungen erhält, beginnt sie sich zu fragen, ob Christophers Tod tatsächlich ein Unfall war. Möglicherweise hatte er etwas entdeckt, das nicht für seine Augen bestimmt war. Und möglicherweise setzt sich Kate, indem sie seine Arbeit fortführt, ebenfalls einer schrecklichen Gefahr aus ... Ein neuer Fall für die ermittelnde Schriftstellerin Kate Ivory. Eine atmosphärische Kriminalserie mit einer besonderen Heldin, deren scharfe Beobachtungsgabe und ungewöhnliche Methoden die gemütliche britische Stadt Oxford ordentlich durchwirbeln. Perfekt für Liebhaber von intelligenter und charmanter Cosy Crime, für Leser von Martha Grimes und Ann Granger. "Stallwood gehört zur ersten Riege der Krimiautoren." Daily Telegraph "Unterhaltung pur!" Daily Mail (über "Ruhe sanft in Oxford") "Atmosphärisch und fesselnd!" The Sunday Times (über "Der Tod kommt rasch in Oxford") "Stallwoods Heldin sprüht vor Intelligenz und Witz." The Times

The Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien

Author: J.R.R. Tolkien

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 0544363795

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 512

View: 3777

Release On

This collection will entertain all who appreciate the art of masterful letter writing. The Letters of J.R.R Tolkien sheds much light on Tolkien's creative genius and grand design for the creation of a whole new world: Middle-earth. Featuring a radically expanded index, this volume provides a valuable research tool for all fans wishing to trace the evolution of THE HOBBIT and THE LORD OF THE RINGS.

J. R. R. Tolkien

eine Biographie

Author: Humphrey Carpenter

Publisher: Klett-Cotta

ISBN: 9783608934311

Category:

Page: 323

View: 8690

Release On


J.R.R. Tolkien Encyclopedia

Scholarship and Critical Assessment

Author: Michael D. C. Drout

Publisher: Taylor & Francis

ISBN: 0415969425

Category: History

Page: 774

View: 5297

Release On

A detailed work of reference and scholarship, this one volume Encyclopedia includes discussions of all the fundamental issues in Tolkien scholarship written by the leading scholars in the field. Coverage not only presents the most recent scholarship on J.R.R. Tolkien, but also introduces and explores the author and scholar's life and work within their historical and cultural contexts. Tolkien's fiction and his sources of influence are examined along with his artistic and academic achievements - including his translations of medieval texts - teaching posts, linguistic works, and the languages he created. The 550 alphabetically arranged entries fall within the following categories of topics: adaptations art and illustrations characters in Tolkien's work critical history and scholarship influence of Tolkien languages biography literary sources literature creatures and peoples of Middle-earth objects in Tolkien's work places in Tolkien's work reception of Tolkien medieval scholars scholarship by Tolkien medieval literature stylistic elements themes in Tolkien's works theological/ philosophical concepts and philosophers Tolkien's contemporary history and culture works of literature