A Grief Observed

Author: C.S. Lewis

Publisher: Faber & Faber

ISBN: 0571265790

Category: Religion

Page: 64

View: 5865

Release On

A Grief Observed comprises the reflections of the great scholar and Christian on the death of his wife after only a few short years of marriage. Painfully honest in its dissection of his thoughts and feelings, this is a book that details his paralysing grief, bewilderment and sense of loss in simple and moving prose. Invaluable as an insight into the grieving process just as much as it is as an exploration of religious doubt, A Grief Observed will continue to offer its consoling insights to a huge range of readers, as it has for over fifty years. 'A classic of the genre, a literary answer to the pain of loss.' Robert McCrum


A Grief Observed Readers' Edition

With contributions from Hilary Mantel, Jessica Martin, Jenna Bailey, Rowan Williams, Kate Saunders, Francis Spufford and Maureen Freely

Author: C.S. Lewis

Publisher: Faber & Faber

ISBN: 0571310885

Category: Religion

Page: 160

View: 4784

Release On

In April 1956, C.S. Lewis, author of The Chronicles of Narnia, married Joy Davidman, an American poet with two small children. After four intensely happy years, Davidman died of cancer and Lewis found himself alone again, and inconsolable. In response, he wrote this journal, freely confessing his pain, rage, and struggle to sustain his faith. In it he finds the way back to life. Now a modern classic, A Grief Observed has offered solace and insight to countless readers worldwide. This new edition includes the original text of A Grief Observed alongside specially commissioned responses to the book and its themes from respected contemporary writers and thinkers: Hilary Mantel, Jessica Martin, Jenna Bailey, Rowan Williams, Kate Saunders, Francis Spufford and Maureen Freely.

A Grief Observed

Author: C. Lewis

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

ISBN: 9781534898400

Category:

Page: 82

View: 5616

Release On

No one ever told me that grief felt so like fear. I am not afraid, but the sensation is like being afraid. The same fluttering in the stomach, the same restlessness, the yawning. I keep on swallowing. At other times it feels like being mildly drunk, or concussed. There is a sort of invisible blanket between the world and me. I find it hard to take in what anyone says. Or perhaps, hard to want to take it in. It is so uninteresting. Yet I want the others to be about me. I dread the moments when the house is empty. If only they would talk to one another and not to me.

A Grief Observed

Author: R. B. Taylor

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 0557381835

Category:

Page: 108

View: 7466

Release On

A Grief Observed is an intensely personal journey through loss, mourning, and ultimately recovery told in emotionally raw yet lushly literate poetry and art.

Discuss Grief: A Discussion Guide for a Grief Observed by C.S. Lewis

Author: Tom Morris

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 0557170958

Category: Self-Help

Page: 64

View: 6088

Release On

Lewis' feelings and musings about his wife's death were first published in 1961. Since then it has helped thousands and thousands of people who have read it or have spoken of its contents. This study is to encourage you to read the book in its entirety. It is to help you grapple with issues of grief that Lewis and all mankind struggles with in grief. It is to help you grapple with issues of grief that everyone faces in loss. Each page is designed to be a discussion session for a group or 5-12 students. Discuss the passage of A Grief Observed prior to delving into the questions. Allow each student to respond to the first question before going on to the next. Allow for more time if some student has difficulty understanding or answering the question. It is my hope that these will assist you in helping young people make sense of death(s) in their lives. This book was written to help teens in grief support groups. It is my hope it can be a help to you and others.


A Buddhist Grief Observed

Author: Guy Newland

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1614293015

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 136

View: 5249

Release On

Amid the world-shattering pain of loss, what helps? “After the death of his beloved partner from cancer, Newland finds himself asking how effective his long years of Buddhist practice have been in helping him come to terms with overwhelming grief. This finely written book offers a lucid meditation on what it means to practice the Dharma when everything falls apart.” —Stephen Batchelor, author of Buddhism without Beliefs and After Buddhism In the tradition of C. S. Lewis’s A Grief Observed, Guy Newland offers this brave record of falling to pieces and then learning to make sense of his pain and grief within his spiritual tradition. Drawing inspiration from all corners of the Buddhist world—from Zen stories and the Dalai Lama, to Pema Chödrön and ancient Pali texts—this book reverberates with honesty, kindness, and deep humanity. Newland shows us the power of responding fully and authentically to the death of a loved one. “A sad, beautiful, and necessary book—and a map waiting for many who will need it.” —James Ishmael Ford, author of If You’re Lucky Your Heart Will Break “Guy Newland faces squarely the pain of death and the pain of grief and offers a work of uncommon power, insight, and honesty—and extraordinary compassion.” —Jay L. Garfield, author of Engaging Buddhism

C.S. Lewis's The Problem of Pain & A Grief Observed

Author: C. S. Lewis,Terry L. Miethe

Publisher: Holman Reference

ISBN: 9780805493535

Category: Bereavement

Page: 112

View: 7778

Release On

A volume comparable in style to Cliff's Notes, here highlighting the key points from C. S. Lewis's' The Problem of Pain and A Grief Observed.


Blue like Jazz

unfromme Gedanken über christliche Spiritualität

Author: Donald Miller

Publisher: LUQS-Verlag

ISBN: 3940158011

Category:

Page: 275

View: 8436

Release On


Das Jahr magischen Denkens

Author: Joan Didion

Publisher: Ullstein eBooks

ISBN: 3843710090

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 6336

Release On

Die große amerikanische Schriftstellerin Joan Didion schreibt über die Trauer nach dem Tod ihres Ehemannes und über ihren Versuch, das Unfassbare begreiflich zu machen. Ein sehr offenes, sehr persönliches Buch, das zugleich von beeindruckender Allgemeingültigkeit ist. Joan Didion wurde dafür in den USA mit dem National Book Award ausgezeichnet.



Another Grief Observed

Author: Keith Seddon

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

ISBN: 9781519612618

Category:

Page: 392

View: 6539

Release On

Inspired by C. S. Lewis's book A Grief Observed, and at intervals responding to Lewis's thoughts, in this intimate and personal series of journal entries written in the three months after the sudden death of his wife, philosopher and writer Keith Seddon observes his own grief and how it impacts on his life. The exploration of grief is the exploration of the human condition and how self-conscious, sentient beings can face the inevitability of suffering. The author's writings are supported by two essays written by his wife, Jocelyn Almond, that also seek responses and solutions to the problem of evil.