A Grief Observed

Author: C.S. Lewis

Publisher: Faber & Faber

ISBN: 0571265790

Category: Religion

Page: 64

View: 969

Release On

A Grief Observed comprises the reflections of the great scholar and Christian on the death of his wife after only a few short years of marriage. Painfully honest in its dissection of his thoughts and feelings, this is a book that details his paralysing grief, bewilderment and sense of loss in simple and moving prose. Invaluable as an insight into the grieving process just as much as it is as an exploration of religious doubt, A Grief Observed will continue to offer its consoling insights to a huge range of readers, as it has for over fifty years. 'A classic of the genre, a literary answer to the pain of loss.' Robert McCrum

A grief observed

Author: Clive Staples Lewis

Publisher: Bantam

ISBN: 9780553274868

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 151

View: 4363

Release On

6, C.S. Lewis, a confirmed bachelor, married Joy Davidman, an American poet with two small children. After four brief, intensely happy years, Lewis found himself alone again, and inconsolable. To defend himself against the loss of belief in God, Lewis wrote this journal, an eloquent statement of rediscovered faith. In it he freely confesses his doubts, his rage, and his awareness of human frailty. In it he finds again the way back to life.

A Grief Observed Readers' Edition

With contributions from Hilary Mantel, Jessica Martin, Jenna Bailey, Rowan Williams, Kate Saunders, Francis Spufford and Maureen Freely

Author: C.S. Lewis

Publisher: Faber & Faber

ISBN: 0571310885

Category: Religion

Page: 160

View: 2793

Release On

In April 1956, C.S. Lewis, author of The Chronicles of Narnia, married Joy Davidman, an American poet with two small children. After four intensely happy years, Davidman died of cancer and Lewis found himself alone again, and inconsolable. In response, he wrote this journal, freely confessing his pain, rage, and struggle to sustain his faith. In it he finds the way back to life. Now a modern classic, A Grief Observed has offered solace and insight to countless readers worldwide. This new edition includes the original text of A Grief Observed alongside specially commissioned responses to the book and its themes from respected contemporary writers and thinkers: Hilary Mantel, Jessica Martin, Jenna Bailey, Rowan Williams, Kate Saunders, Francis Spufford and Maureen Freely.

A Grief Observed

Author: R. B. Taylor

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 0557381835

Category:

Page: 108

View: 4804

Release On

A Grief Observed is an intensely personal journey through loss, mourning, and ultimately recovery told in emotionally raw yet lushly literate poetry and art.

Discuss Grief: A Discussion Guide for a Grief Observed by C.S. Lewis

Author: Tom Morris

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 0557170958

Category: Self-Help

Page: 64

View: 3638

Release On

Lewis' feelings and musings about his wife's death were first published in 1961. Since then it has helped thousands and thousands of people who have read it or have spoken of its contents. This study is to encourage you to read the book in its entirety. It is to help you grapple with issues of grief that Lewis and all mankind struggles with in grief. It is to help you grapple with issues of grief that everyone faces in loss. Each page is designed to be a discussion session for a group or 5-12 students. Discuss the passage of A Grief Observed prior to delving into the questions. Allow each student to respond to the first question before going on to the next. Allow for more time if some student has difficulty understanding or answering the question. It is my hope that these will assist you in helping young people make sense of death(s) in their lives. This book was written to help teens in grief support groups. It is my hope it can be a help to you and others.

A Grief Observed

Author: C. Lewis

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

ISBN: 9781534898400

Category:

Page: 82

View: 3562

Release On

No one ever told me that grief felt so like fear. I am not afraid, but the sensation is like being afraid. The same fluttering in the stomach, the same restlessness, the yawning. I keep on swallowing. At other times it feels like being mildly drunk, or concussed. There is a sort of invisible blanket between the world and me. I find it hard to take in what anyone says. Or perhaps, hard to want to take it in. It is so uninteresting. Yet I want the others to be about me. I dread the moments when the house is empty. If only they would talk to one another and not to me.

A Buddhist Grief Observed

Author: Guy Newland

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1614293015

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 136

View: 7870

Release On

Amid the world-shattering pain of loss, what helps? “After the death of his beloved partner from cancer, Newland finds himself asking how effective his long years of Buddhist practice have been in helping him come to terms with overwhelming grief. This finely written book offers a lucid meditation on what it means to practice the Dharma when everything falls apart.” —Stephen Batchelor, author of Buddhism without Beliefs and After Buddhism In the tradition of C. S. Lewis’s A Grief Observed, Guy Newland offers this brave record of falling to pieces and then learning to make sense of his pain and grief within his spiritual tradition. Drawing inspiration from all corners of the Buddhist world—from Zen stories and the Dalai Lama, to Pema Chödrön and ancient Pali texts—this book reverberates with honesty, kindness, and deep humanity. Newland shows us the power of responding fully and authentically to the death of a loved one. “A sad, beautiful, and necessary book—and a map waiting for many who will need it.” —James Ishmael Ford, author of If You’re Lucky Your Heart Will Break “Guy Newland faces squarely the pain of death and the pain of grief and offers a work of uncommon power, insight, and honesty—and extraordinary compassion.” —Jay L. Garfield, author of Engaging Buddhism



Trauer ist das Ding mit Federn

Author: Max Porter

Publisher: Hanser Berlin

ISBN: 3446250190

Category: Fiction

Page: 112

View: 6525

Release On

Eine junge Frau ist gestorben. Ihre Kinder, zwei kleine Jungen, und ihr Mann sind noch betäubt vom Schock, haben haufenweise Beileidsbekundungen und Lasagne zum Aufwärmen entgegengenommen, die notwendigen Dinge organisiert, und nun setzt die unerträgliche Leere ein. Da klingelt es an der Tür. Totenschwarz und gefiedert bricht es herein, packt den Vater und verkündet: "Ich gehe erst wieder, wenn du mich nicht mehr brauchst." Die überlebensgroße Krähe nistet sich rücksichtslos in der Familie ein, meldet sich mit drastischem Witz zu Wort und wird dabei zu einer Art subversivem Therapeuten, eine herrlich anarchische Mary Poppins. Max Porter ist ein bildmächtiges, wildes Buch über die Trauer gelungen.

Blue like Jazz

unfromme Gedanken über christliche Spiritualität

Author: Donald Miller

Publisher: LUQS-Verlag

ISBN: 3940158011

Category:

Page: 275

View: 805

Release On



Das Jahr magischen Denkens

Author: Joan Didion

Publisher: Ullstein eBooks

ISBN: 3843710090

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 2317

Release On

Die große amerikanische Schriftstellerin Joan Didion schreibt über die Trauer nach dem Tod ihres Ehemannes und über ihren Versuch, das Unfassbare begreiflich zu machen. Ein sehr offenes, sehr persönliches Buch, das zugleich von beeindruckender Allgemeingültigkeit ist. Joan Didion wurde dafür in den USA mit dem National Book Award ausgezeichnet.

Celebrating Tagore

Author: N.A

Publisher: Allied Publishers

ISBN: 9788184244243

Category: Bengal (India)

Page: 305

View: 2854

Release On

Papers presented at a summer seminar on Tagore, held at Kolkata in 2000 and a conference on Celebrating Tagore, held at Fayetteville State University, North Carolina in 2004.

Die störrische Braut

Roman

Author: Anne Tyler

Publisher: Albrecht Knaus Verlag

ISBN: 3641182794

Category: Fiction

Page: 224

View: 9051

Release On

Eine turbulente Komödie um eine moderne Frau, die nicht gezähmt, sondern überzeugt werden will Kate Battista ist frustriert. Wie kommt es eigentlich, dass sie ihrem exzentrischen Vater brav den Haushalt führt und sich um ihre jüngere Schwester Bunny kümmert, die nur Flausen im Kopf hat? Auch in ihrem Kindergartenjob gibt es immer nur Ärger. Professor Battista hat andere Sorgen. Seit Jahrzehnten widmet er sich beharrlich seiner Forschungsarbeit, nun steht er kurz vor dem Durchbruch. Wenn, ja wenn sein brillanter Assistent Pjotr nicht des Landes verwiesen wird. Die Aufenthaltsgenehmigung des Weißrussen läuft bald ab. Als Professor Battista einen Plan ausheckt, um Pjotr in Amerika zu halten, verlässt er sich wie immer auf seine ältere Tochter. Doch Kate sieht rot – und Pjotrs tollpatschiges Werben um ihre Gunst macht die Sache erst einmal auch nicht besser. Eine herrlich turbulente Komödie um einen manipulativen Vater, eine sich heftig zur Wehr setzende Tochter und einen Bräutigam, in den sich die Braut wider Willen zu guter Letzt doch noch verliebt.

An jedem neuen Morgen

Eine Familiengeschichte

Author: Roger Rosenblatt

Publisher: Ullstein eBooks

ISBN: 3843700605

Category: Fiction

Page: 200

View: 2884

Release On

Sammy mag morgens Vollmilch mit FrootLoops, Jessie ein Glas Sojamilch, Bobbies, der Jüngste, liebt Toast über alles. Roger Rosenblatt und seine Frau übernehmen den Haushalt ihrer Tochter Amy, als sie völlig unerwartet stirbt und ihren Mann sowie drei kleine Kinder hinterlässt. Die Großeltern versuchen, das Unfassbare für die Familie erträglich zu machen. Entscheidend dabei ist das Funktionieren des Alltags, sind die kleinen Pflichten, die Halt und dem Leben einen Sinn geben. Der innigste Moment des Tages ist das gemeinsame Frühstück, das der Großvater zubereitet, berühmt für seinen wunderbaren Toast. Als säßen wir mit ihm und seinen Enkeln am Tisch, begleiten uns Roger Rosenblatts kluge Beobachtungen und die von Liebe, Hingabe und Demut getragenen Gedanken. Ein schmerzhaft schönes Buch über das Glück, eine Familie zu haben.

What Should I Do When Grief Strikes?

Author: Tom Morris

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 0557190703

Category:

Page: 42

View: 6391

Release On

Life requires death as its conclusion. This is part of the human condition. Growth from death is only an option. Growth is a goal that can only be achieved with effort. Many people are 'torn down' by grief and it sets them back. I have had family and friends that have never recovered from loss. Growing is a choice. Choose growth or choose life. The decision is only yours. The wise choice is growth. GrievingTeensPublishing.com GrievingTeens.com