Fearless Girls, Wise Women, and Beloved Sisters: Heroines in Folktales from Around the World

Author: Kathleen Ragan

Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

ISBN: 0393285871

Category: Social Science

Page: 480

View: 5554

Release On

One hundred great folk tales and fairy tales from all over the world about strong, smart, brave heroines. A definitive sourcebook of folktales and fairytales and the first of its kind to feature a variety of multicultural heroines. Dismayed by the predominance of male protagonists in her daughters' books, Kathleen Ragan set out to collect the stories of our forgotten heroines. Gathered from around the world, from regions as diverse as sub-Saharan Africa and Western Europe, from North and South American Indian cultures and New World settlers, from Asia and the Middle East, these 100 folktales celebrate strong female heroines. Fearless Girls, Wise Women, and Beloved Sisters is for all women who are searching to define who they are, to redefine the world and shape their collective sensibility. It is for men who want to know more about what it means to be a woman. It is for our daughters and our sons, so that they can learn to value all kinds of courage, courage in battle and the courage of love. It is for all of us to help build a more just vision of woman. Fearless Girls, Wise Women, and Beloved Sisters breaks new ground by reexamining our notions about heroism. This book will appeal to parents who want to foster positive role models for their children. An invaluable resource of multicultural heroines for any school library.

Fearless Girls, Wise Women, and Beloved Sisters

Heroines in Folktales from Around the World

Author: Kathleen Ragan

Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

ISBN: 9780393045987

Category: Fiction

Page: 450

View: 8474

Release On

Retells more than a hundred folktales form Europe, the Americas, Asia, the Pacific, Africa, and the Middle East that feature acitve heroines of all types

Fearless Girls, Wise Women, and Beloved Sisters

Heroines in Folktales from Around the World

Author: Kathleen Ragan

Publisher: W W Norton & Company Incorporated

ISBN: 9780393045987

Category: Fiction

Page: 450

View: 6214

Release On

Retells more than a hundred folktales form Europe, the Americas, Asia, the Pacific, Africa, and the Middle East that feature acitve heroines of all types

Not One Damsel in Distress

Heroic Girls from World Folklore

Author: Jane Yolen

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 0547542895

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 144

View: 6622

Release On

From celebrated author Jane Yolen comes this inspiring collection of folktales from around the world, all featuring strong female heroes. These fifteen folktales have one thing in common: brainy, bold, brave women—and not one damsel in distress! There is Bradamante, the fierce medieval knight; Li Chi, the Chinese girl who slays a dreaded serpent and saves her town; Makhta, a female warrior who leads her Sioux tribe into battle; and many more women who use their cunning, wisdom, and strength to succeed. Drawing from diverse cultures around the world, renowned author Jane Yolen celebrates the female heroes of legend and lore in a collection that will empower every reader. This new edition features two brand-new stories from Azerbaijan and Indonesia, and enhanced illustrations.

Outfoxing Fear

Folktales from Around the World

Author: Kathleen Ragan

Publisher: W W Norton & Company Incorporated

ISBN: 9780393329322

Category: Fiction

Page: 259

View: 4683

Release On

A collection of sixty-four folktales explores a theme of courage in the face of fear, from a Japanese piece about an elderly woman who tricks a tengu monster to the story of a bluebird who uses the wind to teach her mother compassion.

Italian Folktales

Author: Italo Calvino

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 9780156454896

Category: Fiction

Page: 763

View: 568

Release On

Retells two hundred traditional Italian tales, including the stories of a fearless little man, a prince who married a frog, and a woman who lived on wind

Don't Bet on the Prince

Contemporary Feminist Fairy Tales in North America and England

Author: Jack Zipes

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 1136789537

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 284

View: 5409

Release On

First published in 1987. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

Favorite Folktales from Around the World

Author: Jane Yolen

Publisher: Pantheon

ISBN: 0804152861

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 4900

Release On

From Africa, Burma, and Czechoslovakia to Turkey, Vietnam, and Wales here are more than 150 of the world's best-loved folktales from more than forty countries and cultures. These tales of wonder and transformation, of heroes and heroines, of love lost and won, of ogres and trolls, stories both jocular and cautionary and legends of pure enchantment will delight readers and storytellers of all ages. With black-and-white drawings throughout Part of the Pantheon Fairy Tale and Folklore Library


Feminist Fairy Tales

Author: Barbara G. Walker

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 0062288350

Category: Social Science

Page: 256

View: 6304

Release On

Prominent feminist author Barbara Walker has revamped, retold, and infused with life some of your favorite classic fairy tales. No longer are women submissive, helpless creatures in need of redemption through the princely male! Instead they are vibrantly alive, strong women who take fate into their own hands.

Clever Gretchen and Other Forgotten Folktales

Author: Alison Lurie

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 0595345212

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 132

View: 9880

Release On

Sleeping beauties? Not Clever Gretchen or Kate Crackernuts or Manka or any of the other young heroines in this wonderful collection of folktales. Active, witty, brave, and resourceful, these girls and young women can fight and hunt, defeat giants, answer riddles, outwit the Devil, and rescue friends and family from all sorts of dangers and evil spells. These stories and many others like them were gathered by scholars from all the countries of Europe, but are usually left out of the popular collections of the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, when women were supposed to be beautiful, innocent, and passive.

Tatterhood and Other Tales

Stories of Magic and Adventure

Author: Ethel Johnston Phelps

Publisher: Feminist Press at CUNY

ISBN: 9780912670508

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 165

View: 1939

Release On

A collection of traditional tales from Norway, England, China, and many other countries.

Womenfolk and Fairy Tales

Author: Rosemary Minard

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN: 9780395202760

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 163

View: 8359

Release On

This collection of folk and fairy tales has the theme of a girl or women who is the moving force in each story.

Fairy Tales in Popular Culture

Author: Martin Hallett,Barbara Karasek

Publisher: Broadview Press

ISBN: 1554811449

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 224

View: 7646

Release On

It wasn’t so long ago that the fairy tale was comfortably settled as an established and respectable part of children’s literature. Since the fairy tale has always been a mirror of its times, however, we should not be surprised that in the latter part of the twentieth century it turned dark and ambiguous; its categorical distinction between good and evil was increasingly at odds with the times. Yet whatever changes the fairy tale may have undergone, its cultural popularity has never been greater. Fairy Tales in Popular Culture sets out to show how the tale has been adapted to meet the needs of the contemporary world; how writers, film-makers, artists, and other communicators have found in its universality an ideal vehicle for speaking to the here-and-now; and how social media have created a participatory culture that has re-invented the fairy tale. A selection of recent retellings show how the tale is being recalibrated for the contemporary world, first through the word and then through the image. In addition to the introductions that precede each section, the anthology provides a selection of critical pieces that offer lively insight into various aspects of the fairy tale as popular culture.

Dreams and Shadows

A Novel

Author: C. Robert Cargill

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 006219044X

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 2385

Release On

Screenwriter and acclaimed film critic C. Robert Cargill makes his fiction debut with Dreams and Shadows, taking beloved fantasy tropes, giving them a twist, and turning out a wonderful, witty, and wry take on clash between the fairy world and our own. Something is missing from Ewan and Colby’s lives. Residing in the corners of their memories is their time in Limestone Kingdom, a realm filled with magic and mystery, a world where only some may travel amongst the menagerie of mystical souls and sinister demons. Cargill offers well-crafted characters and an absorbing, intricate plot that will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman and Lev Grossman. Dreams and Shadows pulls you into an extraordinary universe of darkness that exposes the magic and monsters in our world, and in ourselves.

The Maid of the North

Feminist Folk Tales from Around the World

Author: Ethel Johnston Phelps

Publisher: Holt Paperbacks

ISBN: N.A

Category: Social Science

Page: 176

View: 8386

Release On

Donated: Rostraver Women's Club.

Old Hungarian Fairy Tales

Author: Baroness Emmuska Orczy Orczy

Publisher: Library of Alexandria

ISBN: 1613108850

Category: Children's stories, Hungarian

Page: 95

View: 1797

Release On


Best-Loved Folktales of the World

Author: Joanna Cole

Publisher: Anchor

ISBN: 0385189494

Category: Fiction

Page: 792

View: 3716

Release On

Collects a wide range of fairy tales, animal fables, ghost stories, and legends from the United States, England, China, Russia, Haiti, and many other countries

Trickster Makes This World

Mischief, Myth and Art

Author: Lewis Hyde

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

ISBN: 1429930837

Category: Social Science

Page: 432

View: 1743

Release On

In Trickster Makes This World, Lewis Hyde brings to life the playful and disruptive side of human imagination as it is embodied in trickster mythology. He first visits the old stories—Hermes in Greece, Eshu in West Africa, Krishna in India, Coyote in North America, among others—and then holds them up against the lives and work of more recent creators: Picasso, Duchamp, Ginsberg, John Cage, and Frederick Douglass. Twelve years after its first publication, Trickster Makes This World—authoritative in its scholarship, loose-limbed in its style—has taken its place among the great works of modern cultural criticism. This new edition includes an introduction by Michael Chabon.

Hera

The Goddess and Her Glory

Author: George O'Connor

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN: 1596437243

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 76

View: 4171

Release On

Retells in graphic novel format, tales of the many heroes who sought and won Hera's patronage, most notably Hercules.