American Bee Journal

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Bee culture

Page: N.A

View: 7391

Release On

Includes summarized reports of many bee-keeper associations

A Very Small Farm

Author: William Paul Winchester

Publisher: University of Oklahoma Press

ISBN: 0806184108

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 232

View: 8630

Release On

In the tradition of Thoreau’s Walden, William Paul Winchester offers a chronicle of everyday life on Southwind, his farm of twenty acres. As a subsistence farmer, he builds his own house and barn, puts in a garden and an orchard, acquires a milk cow, and takes up beekeeping. In these pages, we hear his thoughts on such subjects as the weather, seasonal changes, machinery repair, the flora and fauna of the region, and vegetarian cooking. His philosophy, like his lifestyle, is simple, yet profoundly wise.

Novels and Tales by the Earl of Beaconsfield

Author: Benjamin Disraeli,Earl Of Beacon The Earl of Beaconsfield

Publisher: Wildside Press LLC

ISBN: 1434417344

Category: Fiction

Page: 472

View: 3089

Release On

Included in this volume are "Alroy," "Ixion in Heaven," "The Infernal Marriage," and Popanilla." The Earl of Beaconsfield, Benjamin Disraeli, was Prime Minister of England under Queen Victoria

The Original Miss Honeyford

Author: M.C. Beaton

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1472101804

Category: Fiction

Page: 160

View: 3282

Release On

Miss Honeyford was sour on romance, but she had been duly dispatched to London to save the family fortune by hunting for (and securing) a wealthy husband - and thereby proving her role as a loving if not entirely dutiful daughter. Honoraria obeyed. But if she was reluctantly willing to surrender her hand, this beautiful young lady who could ride, shoot, and argue with any man was not about to lose her head or her heart to any of the dismal cads in lads of the Marriage Mart. First she met the arrogantly attractive Lord Alistair Stewart, who treated her infuriatingly like a little girl. And then she met the skillfully seductive Lord Channington, who treated her intoxicatingly like the desirable full-grown woman that she was. But now that she had a choice, which role would she choose and just how much risk was she willing to run?


Plan Bee

Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About the Hardest-Working Creatures on thePla net

Author: Susan Brackney

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101458127

Category: Nature

Page: 208

View: 9292

Release On

A guided tour inside the world of bees Overtaxed and underrecognized-and now disappearing in alarming numbers- bees are the unsung heroes of the food chain, essential for the pollination of more than ninety of the crops we eat. The hardworking, humble, and matriarchal bee finally gets her due in this engaging and expertly written guide that will appeal to anyone who's ever been curious about the mysterious and always-buzzing world of bees. Beekeeper Susan Brackney explains: • Why honeybees are disappearing-and what we can do about it • Who's who in the hive-the queen bee, the workers, and the drones • Bees by the numbers-the number of bees per hive, the number of wing beats per second, and other fascinating facts • Gardening tips to attract and support honeybees • The beekeeper's trade-the essential equipment and the latest tools, a day in the life, and more • Honey, pollen, wax, royal jelly, mead, and other products of the sweet life • The secrets behind making a bee beard (or bee bikini) with live bees ...and much more




The Rambler's Magazine

Or, the Annals of Gallantry, Glee, Pleasure and the Bon Ton : Calculated for the Entertainment of the Polite World ; and to Furnish the Man of Pleasure with a Most Delicious Banquet of Amorous, Bacchanalian, Whimsical, Humorous, Theatrical and Polite Entertainment ; for the Year ...

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 3309

Release On


Oil and Honey

The Education of an Unlikely Activist

Author: Bill McKibben

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN: 0805098380

Category: Nature

Page: 272

View: 7996

Release On

Bestselling author and environmental activist Bill McKibben recounts the personal and global story of the fight to build and preserve a sustainable planet Bill McKibben is not a person you'd expect to find handcuffed and behind bars, but that's where he found himself in the summer of 2011 after leading the largest civil disobedience in thirty years, protesting the Keystone XL pipeline in front of the White House. With the Arctic melting, the Midwest in drought, and Irene scouring the Atlantic, McKibben recognized that action was needed if solutions were to be found. Some of those would come at the local level, where McKibben joins forces with a Vermont beekeeper raising his hives as part of the growing trend toward local food. Other solutions would come from a much larger fight against the fossil-fuel industry as a whole. Oil and Honey is McKibben's account of these two necessary and mutually reinforcing sides of the global climate fight—from the center of the maelstrom and from the growing hive of small-scale local answers to climate change. With empathy and passion he makes the case for a renewed commitment on both levels of the fight to stop global warming, telling the story of raising one year's honey crop and building a social movement that's still cresting.




The Viscount's Valentine

Author: Donna Lea Simpson

Publisher: Beyond The Page

ISBN: 1937349586

Category: Fiction

Page: 52

View: 9947

Release On

A Classic Regency Romance novella celebrating the world first introduced by Jane Austen. Viscount Blackthorne is better known as Blackheart, a notorious rogue with a reputation for seduction. Forced to flee London and a young woman’s irate father, he escapes to the wilds of Yorkshire hoping to rest, relax, and wait out the scandal. The last thing he expects to find in the country is the stunning beauty he first eyed twelve years ago, the one woman who captivated his heart and made him question his ways. The widow Honey Hockley has given up on romance and settled into the quiet simplicity of her small Yorkshire village. Before marrying her infirmed husband, she had one sparkling night of a London Season, a night she’ll hold on to forever. But Honey’s peaceful days are shattered when a handsome and mysterious stranger comes to town, forcing her to question her decision to accept a life alone. Upon meeting, attraction flares, and it’s only Honey’s fears and the Viscount’s reputation that keep them apart. So while Honey works to accept the possibility that life and love may yet hold some surprises for her, the Viscount works to clear his name and win over the one woman he believes can make him virtuous again. The Viscount’s Valentine was originally published as Wild Honey.